Welcome to my website


Here you will find everything out about my books, my writing life, all my news and forthcoming events.

My latest novel is THE BOATMAN'S WIFE available in e-book, print and audio. See below to order your copy!
My new novel THE GIRL ACROSS THE SEA is out on 10th November and available for pre-order HERE

To join one of my writing courses or book a place on my IRISH CASTLE WRITING RETREAT in February 2022 please go here:
Aurora Writers Retreats .

I would also like to invite you to REST AND RISE my yoga and meditation online platform with Lizzie Mcghee . Check it out here: RESTANDRISE .

The Boatman's Wife


Order Now

Available as e-book, print & audio.
Order Here

‘A beautifully written novel.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

There was some dark secret in this western edge of Ireland that her husband never wanted her to find out. She might never be able to lay his body to rest, but she could gain some kind of closure by finding out who the man she married was.

When Lily married her soulmate Connor, buffeted by the sea spray and wild winds of her coastal homeland in Maine, she never imagined she’d be planning his memorial just three years later. Connor has been lost at sea in the bleak stormy Atlantic, leaving Lily heartbroken.

But as she prepares to say goodbye to Connor for the last time, she is shocked to discover a message to him that he never told her about:

Does your wife know who you really are, Connor Fitzgerald? Don’t ever think you can come home. Because if you do, I swear I’ll kill you.

Unable to bear living in the home she and Connor shared, Lily decides to find out her husband’s secret. She flies to Connor’s home town of Mullaghmore on the west coast of Ireland, a harbour town hugged by golden beaches and emerald-green fields. But when doors are slammed in her face, she begins to realise that she knows nothing about her husband’s past.

Connor’s grandmother, a hermit living on the cliffs of the wild Atlantic, must know the truth about her grandson. But when Lily tries to find her, threatening notes are pushed through her door warning her not to stay. Will Lily leave the darkness of the past where it belongs? Or will she risk everything to find out the truth about the man she married…

A completely heart-breaking story about the lies we tell to protect the ones we love. Fans of The Light Between Oceans, Lisa Wingate and Susanne O’Leary will lose their hearts to The Boatman’s Wife.

Praise for The Boatman’s Wife:

‘What a totally fantastic book, totally captivating from the very first page… I can't praise this book enough.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I read this wonderful book in a single sitting, only reluctantly putting it down when absolutely necessary.’ Books ‘n Banter, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I devoured every page of this book. Noelle Harrison is a new author for me and I am eager to read more. I enjoyed the way her characters developed through the chapters and the way the book is set between present day and Ireland in the early nineties. It covers some tough subjects but they were handled with sensitivity. I can highly recommend this book.’ Netgalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘You will be captivated by this historical novel… this story of redemption will pull at your heartstrings and leave you with the biggest smile when you realize the lengths some women will go to find the truth… you’ll love this epic journey.’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘Harrison is a gifted writer. Her vivid descriptions of ocean, nature, flora and fauna were brought to life… this is a heart touching and breaking story about families torn apart, and how they build lives again. Beautiful story suffused with resilience, bereavement, family bonds,finding joy, and love.’ BluePink Books

Praise for Noelle Harrison:

‘This book was so good. I didn't want to put it down… the storyline sucked you into it and made you feel like you were really there.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A gorgeous, beautifully written, compelling story of love, loss and hope. I was completely absorbed in the stories of Emer and Susannah and their sisters when reading and somewhat bereft to leave them behind. This is a story which really touched me and I will remember the characters for a long time. If I tell you that I have added it to my Top Reads list for 2020, you will know how much I loved it. Please buy it, you won't be disappointed!’ Portobello Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


The Girl Across The Sea


My new novel is out 10TH NOVEMBER

Kindle available to pre-order NOW

Ellen looked into her daughter’s green eyes. Her chest felt tight, and her heart was cracking. If only she could be sure her secret was safe. If only she could go home to Ireland…


PICTURE THIS! The Art of Short Story Writing

WRITE YOUR OWN SHORT STORY INSPIRED BY A WORK OF ART IN BERGEN’S KODE 4 ART MUSEUM I am so looking forward to my forthcoming creative writing weekend workshop hosted by Skrivekunstkollektivet in collaboration with Aurora Writers Retreats in Bergen in Norway on 18th & 19th November in Litteraturhuset. This two-day workshop focuses on the […]

Early Spring Creative Writing Retreat – Scottish Borders

I am thrilled to be co-facilitating a very special Creative Writing Retreat with the writer Melody Nixon in the Scottish Borders in late February. The theme of our weekend retreat is the first days of Spring, creating new energy and unblocking creativity as nature reawakens after the dark winter months. All are welcome whether you […]

Writing Workshop in June in Bergen

Join me at the Litteraturhuset in Bergen in Norway on Saturday 25th June when I will be teaching a day long workshop on how to write a novel. I will enable participants to put their ideas for a book into action, and strengthen their writing skills and focus, increasing their self-belief and drive to complete […]

Listen to me read my short story The Return from the Market

You can listen to the National Gallery of Ireland’s podcast of myself in conversation with Sinead Gleeson alongside writers Eoin McNamee and Philip Davison as well as hear us reading our short stories published in Thames and Hudsons anthology of Irish writers on Art ‘Lines of Vision’ right here. 

Upcoming talk at National Gallery of Ireland

Join myself and two other writers Philip Davison and Eoin McNamee at the National Gallery of Ireland on Sunday 23rd November at 3 p.m. when we will be reading from our work in the new Thames & Hudson Anthology Lines of Vision, Irish Writers on Art, and in conversation with Sinead Gleeson, The Irish Times […]

New short story in National Gallery of Ireland Anthology

As part of the 150 year celebrations of the National Gallery of Ireland a collection of Irish writers were asked to write a short story or poem inspired by a painting from the collection. I was honoured to be one of these writers. After several visits to the National Gallery  of Ireland I chose Return […]

The Secret Loves of Julia Caesar available to order now

A rare opportunity to buy a special signed first edition of my novel The Secret Loves of Julia Caesar. Only 200 of the illustrated hardback editions are being produced. The Secret Loves of Julia Caesar is a search for the true nature of love in all its glorious and terrible manifestations. It can be read […]